Teaching, Learning & Assessment

The potential for learning anytime, anywhere, at any pace, through any path is greatly enhanced by the new digital learning environment. This constantly changing environment significantly impacts the role of schools. Schools must prepare all children for many choices through providing them the tools and attitudes to contribute meaningfully to our democratic society and to enable them to live successfully in a rapidly changing world. Students must be prepared to think critically, to solve problems, to collaborate, to foster relationships, to be flexible, to adapt to change, and to communicate effectively. Schools must be places where all children succeed, feel safe, and have their curiosity cultivated. Experiences must be customized to meet the individual needs of every student. Standards must be clear, attainable, and high enough to ensure that all students are intellectually challenged. Learning must be at the profound level. Appropriate and varied types of formative assessments are essential for informing students of their degree of success and for providing teachers with the information needed to design work that is meaningful, challenging, and engaging for each student.

This component addresses the teaching, learning, and assessment elements that are essential for Missouri’s educational system to provide our students a world-class education that prepares them for learning, work, and life.

Planning Group




Mike Fulton
Pattonville Co-Chair/Superintendent
Marilyn McCroskey
Marionville R-IX
Co-Chair/Board Member
Joel Denney
MSBA Facilitator
Jeanie Gordon
MSBA Facilitator
Michael Muenks DESE Liaison
Sandra Alden Gallatin R-V Board Member
Robert Bartman Center Superintendent
Kris Callen Springfield Board Member
Judith Delaney Carrollton R-VII Superintendent
Chuck Fugate Ozark R-VI Board Member
Linda Gray Smith Chillicothe R-II Superintendent
Kathy Grover Clever R-V Superintendent
Shelley Jokerst St. Genevieve R-II Superintendent
Robin Krause Knob Noster R-VIII Board Member
Charlotte Miller Southern Boone Co R-I Superintendent
Mike Pratte Gasconade Co. R-I Board Member
Norm Ridder Springfield Superintendent
Brad Sprague Clark Co. R-I Board Member
Johnny Thompson Crawford Co R-II Superintendent